hlavni_nadpis

FENStatS News

YS Webinar: Selection of Priors in Bayesian Structural Equation Modeling

event date: 2022-04-20The tenth “One World webinar” organized by YoungStatS will take place on April 20th, 2022

Structural equation modeling (SEM) is an important framework within the social sciences that encompasses a wide variety of statistical models. Traditionally, estimation of SEMs has relied on maximum likelihood.  Unfortunately, there also exist a variety of situations in which maximum likelihood performs subpar. This led researchers to turn to alternative estimation methods, in particular, Bayesian estimation of SEMs or BSEM. However, it is currently unclear how to specify the prior distribution in order to attain the advantages of Bayesian approaches.


On the webinar, selected statisticians will present their recent works on the topic.

When & Where:

  • Wednesday, April 20th, 8:00 PT / 11:00 EST / 16:00 CET
  • Online, via Zoom. The registration form is available here.

Speakers:

Discussant:

The webinar is part of the YoungStatS project of the Young Statisticians Europe initiative (FENStatS) supported by the Bernoulli Society for Mathematical Statistics and Probability and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS).

For more information, please visit the YoungStatS project website.

Back to News