hlavni_nadpis

FENStatS News

YS Webinar: Nonparametric Inference Based on Statistical Depth

event date: 2022-10-17

The notion of the centre of an object, be it a set of observations, a physical object or a random variable, is difficult to define. This motivated the development of general ways to measure centrality via depth functions. Such mappings allow for comparing the relative centrality of two locations and, consequently, provide a centre-outward ordering. Many such mappings have been introduced in the literature in recent decades, and this is subject to intense research in, among others, nonparametric statistics and functional data analysis.

 

In the webinar, selected statisticians will present their recent works and elaborate on different aspects of this topic.

 

When & Where

📅Monday, October 17th, 7:00 PT / 10:00 ET / 16:00 CET.

📍Online, via Zoom. The registration form is available here.

 

Speakers

  • Dimitri Konen, Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB), Belgium
  • Stanislav Nagy, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, Charles University, Czech Republic
  • Pavlo Mozharovskyi, LTCI, Telecom Paris, Institut Polytechnique de Paris, France

 

Discussant: Germain Van Bever, Université de Namur, Belgium

 

he webinar is part of the YoungStatS project of the Young Statisticians Europe initiative (FENStatS) supported by the Bernoulli Society for Mathematical Statistics and Probability and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS).

For more information, please visit the YoungStatS project website.

Back to News